68 739 monthly listeners. Rank: 31 -14
Joeboy is versatile singer with music genre of Afropop, R&B.
He studied Studied human resource at the (more)
Promote artist ↑
More Songs

About Joeboy

On May 21 1997, a bouncing baby boy Joseph Akinwale Akinfenwa-Donus alias Joeboy came into the world. No one ever thought his life would settle for music 25 years later. He was born and raised in Nigeria’s capital, Lagos. He attended his primary and secondary school here before proceeding to the University of Lagos where he graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Human Resource Management.

The Nigerian Afro-pop/R&B crooner grew up with an affinity for music. He enjoyed seeing others perform music, but he never imagined that he would be one of them. As a child, his father was a church organist, and his brother was a guitar player. He didn't discover he could sing till he was 16. It was then that he took his musical gift a little bit more serious. He was inspired by the music of 9ice and ID Cabasa, two of his former coworkers at the studio. At the age of 17, he recorded his debut Afrobeat song, Gbeseyin. But this wasn’t enough to push him to stardom but life had other plans for his journey in music.
Ed Sheeran's 'Shape Of You' changed everything for Joeboy when he started doing cover songs as a way to pass the time. He caught Mr Eazi’s attention in 2017 after doing the cover song and posting it on his Instagram. Mr Eazi would then reach out via a message on Instagram. Soon after, he was signed to eMpawa Africa.

Nonetheless, Joeboy’s first encounter on a collaborative song ‘Faaji’ with Mr Eazi did not quite pick up in October 2018 as he expected. However, But, this did not torment his spirits, and his zeal to become Nigeria’s king of Afro-pop. His determination and focus pushed him to a whole new musical stage with his record-breaking hit ‘Baby’ in 2019.

'Baby', a visualizer video that was launched in East Africa before making waves in Nigeria, received more airtime there than in Nigeria. It was his debut single that launched his career, and he went on to have a string of hit singles. A few months after releasing 'Baby,' Joeboy released 'Beginning' as his sophomore single. It also performed well garnering millions of views online.

Following the success of his first two singles in 2019, the 25-year-old Afro-pop singer wasn't about to slow down. When he dropped his first EP, 'Love & Light,' he included five tunes, including ‘Baby’ and ‘Beginning’. The lucky stars appeared to be aligned for him at the time of its release in 2019. In addition to the two songs on the 'Love & Light' EP, Mayorkun’s ‘Don’t Call Me’ and 'All of You' were featured.

Joeboy felt gracious that his heartfelt love lyrics earned him the affection of African women. His simple, dazzling, but succinct lyrics helped cement his place in music history. The musician, who was born in Lagos, bases most of his songwriting on themes of love and emotion. His song's exhilarating melodies are inspired by the love that seeps out of him. His sensual effect in music saw him earn more respect in Tanzania after collaborating with songstresses Nandy and Zuchu.

Joeboy's latest album, 'Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic,' gives you all the answers you need regarding his charming love songs. The title of the album alludes to how he feels, as well as the various phases and energies that love has brought into his life. 'Somewhere Between Beauty and Magic' takes you on a romantic journey complete with detours at various scenic viewpoints. Different influences are heard in each of the 14 songs. They remain deeply instrumental in his journey as an artist.

Joeboy opines that his sole purpose in life is to perform and record music. According to him, it's his ultimate goal to produce high-quality music and inspire the next generation of artists as Mr Eazi did for him in 2017. That’s why he is eyeing international collaborations to market his brand far and wide across the continent.

Joeboy Popular Songs

1. Baby
2. Sip
3. Abeg
4. Don’t Call Me Back
5. Mine
6. Beginning
7. All For You
8. Cubana
9. Show Me
10. Call
11. Door
12. Celebration
13. Lonely

Joeboy Albums & EPs

. Love & Light
. Somewhere Between Beauty & Magic

Joeboy songs and albums are online on and are available for download in MP3.