Niniola Drops Sophomore Album 'Colours and Sounds'

Photo: Niniola/Twitter

By Khisa CJ

Follow Us on Google News

Queen of Afro House Niniola Apata has finally dropped her highly anticipated sophomore album 'Colours and Sounds'.

The album that houses 15 tracks was officially released on October 2.

In the album, Niniola fuses several sounds in the tracks including her favorite Afro House as well Amapiano, Jamaican dance, Afrobeats and Rhythm and Blues (R&B).

Featured Artists are also from different countries, giving the album a more of African and diaspora tour, from South Africa with Busiswa to Kenya through Multiple award-winning boy band Sauti Sol.

Other featured artists in the 'Colours and Sounds' album are Noso Amadi, American Record Producer Timbaland, British DJ Afro B, Femi Kuti and record producer Sarz each of whom adds their signature to the album that has been described as a 'vibrant tapestry of global influences'.

The album contains previously released hit songs 'Fantasy' featuring Femi Kuti and 'Addicted' whose fan, dance and emotion filled visuals were dropped about a month ago.

Other songs in the album are:

- Night and Day ft Noso Amadi
- Innocent (Fagbo)
- So Serious ft Sauti Sol
- Look Like Me
- Boda Sodiq
- Oh Sharp ft Busiswa
- Skit
- Fire ft Timbaland
- My Body ft Afro B
- Designer ft Sraz
- Omo Rapala
- Bana
- Addicted (Extended Version)

In this album, Niniola deftly navigates a spectrum of sounds, her distinctive vocals bending and soaring equally over house samples and Afrobeats.

Niniola participated in the sixth season of Project Fame West Africa in 2013.

After releasing her debut single 'Ibadi', she was nominated for Most Promising Act to Watch at the 2015 Nigeria Entertainment Awards.

With the album officially out, Niniola is already scheduled to drop the official visuals for 'Look Like Me' in the next few hours.

Leave your comment